The Sunday Post // The Sunday Poet #7

The Sunday Post // The Sunday Poet #7

Hello everyone! Have you all had a good Halloween weekend? I’ve been well and truly getting into the spirit of things, with lots of fancy dress all week. Therefore I thought it would be pretty apt to include one of my favourite Edgar Allen Poe poems – The Raven. I’m sure you all know this one, however if you haven’t come across it before I’ve included a couple of my favourite verses with a link to the full text online (purely because it is quite long!). This poem is  haunting  with the raven as the omen of death provoking fears and whispers of ghosts however because of the poem’s metre it is really enjoyable and easy to read. That’s an aspect I love about it, its great to read out loud. Do any of you do this? I just sit in my flat (often in bed when reading poetry) and recite poetry to myself because I like the sound of it! Call me crazy but it’s very good fun.

The Sunday Poet  #7

Edgar Allen Poe –The Raven

Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered, weak and weary,
Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore,
While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping,
As of some one gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door.
”Tis some visitor,’ I muttered, ‘tapping at my chamber door-
Only this, and nothing more.’

***

Deep into that darkness peering, long I stood there wondering,
fearing,
Doubting, dreaming dreams no mortals ever dared to dream before;
But the silence was unbroken, and the stillness gave no token,
And the only word there spoken was the whispered word, ‘Lenore!’
This I whispered, and an echo murmured back the word, ‘Lenore!’-
Merely this, and nothing more.

***

Then this ebony bird beguiling my sad fancy into smiling,
By the grave and stern decorum of the countenance it wore.
‘Though thy crest be shorn and shaven, thou,’ I said, ‘art sure no
craven,
Ghastly grim and ancient raven wandering from the Nightly shore-
Tell me what thy lordly name is on the Night’s Plutonian shore!’
Quoth the Raven, ‘Nevermore.’

The Sunday Post #7

What I’ve been reading…

  • Transfixion by J.Giambrone: I have to confess, I was contacted asking if I would like to receive a free copy of this one in exchange for an honest review. I jumped at the chance, mainly because I was so excited that someone would like little old me to review their book. However I am not enjoying it as much as I hoped and am feeling a little anxious about writing the review.  Anyway, I guess I’ll have to finish it first!!

And the rest…

So as I mentioned previously this week was all about getting in the Halloween spirit! At work we dressed up every day and I had a little bit too much fun with the face paint.  Then on the Saturday night I went to a family party with my boyfriend’s family – Danny and I dressed up as Garth and Wayne from Wayne’s world! Something else that has made this week feel really autumnal is a Yankee candle that I’ve been coveting for a long time – it’s called ‘Fireside Treats’ and has the whole flat smelling like toasted marshmallows. I love buying scented candles to match the seasons, especially in autumn/winter – I think it’s because the scents I choose evoke so many memories! Have any of you been dressing up this week? I would love to see your costumes!

Becqui

IMG_3575

I started the week off quite tamely as a kitty-cat! As seen on my Instagram 🙂

IMG_3597

But by the end of the week I was getting a bit more adventurous!

halloween

Favourite picture with family Allen.

Leave a Reply

