The Monday Post // The Monday Poet #4

The Monday Post // The Monday Poet #4

Hello hello hello! So the eagle-eyed amongst you might have noticed that somehow my weekly round-up has slipped a day – from Sunday to Monday. It’s totally my own fault, I have had an incredibly hectic past few days consisting of the boyfriend’s birthday (and party with his family) then my own birthday followed by a trip up to Scotland for a friend’s wedding and then back again. By the time I got off the train at Piccadilly on Sunday I was too tired to do anything but curl up on the sofa in my brand new Snuggie (thanks Dan!). And I wasn’t organised enough to schedule a post either – therefore I am typing it up today!

Because it has been a week of celebrations I thought I would turn to a classic anthology I own – Penguin’s Poems for Life – which contains poems for all life’s events, from birth through to starting school, growing up, getting married, having a family of your own, and then eventually death. It is a great little volume; there are many well-known poems in there all of which suit life’s journey perfectly.  So today I turned to it, as I often do, in search of words to fit this week’s events.

The Monday Poet #4

Carmen BuganA house of stone

In the village where I was born, we wish
A house of stone to shelter the heart of the marriage

So here too, I wish you
Obstinate, strong love, unyielding and unending.

May you be in reach of each other when all seems lost,
May your tears and your smiles always happen face to face.

When you imagine that you have shared everything
May you know that you still have the rest of your lives
To do all of it again and again.

But now listen to the hurry of bells and
Look how petals of roses about the vineyard

Bring you the words, ‘husband’ and ‘wife’:
First words in your house of stone.

 The Monday Post #4

What I’ve read this week…

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood: expect a review of this, one of my favourite books – soon!

Hater by David Moody: I read this as I am joining a post-apocalyptic books group and this is the first book they will be discussing.  Hater follows the dissolution of society as what starts off as an increased number of violent attacks on individuals begins to increase exponentially until these seemingly unmotivated attacks are happening all over the country. I’m excited to go to the first meet-up tomorrow, and just indulge in my love of post-apocalyptic fiction!

The Beautiful and the Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald: this was another birthday present from my lovely boyfriend! The blurb informs me that it follows a young, extremely wealthy, couple – Patch and Gloria – as they try to navigate the heady lifestyle of 1920’s New York. I find F.Scott Fitzgerald and his wife Zelda extremely interesting – and I feel like this novel might potentially reflect some of the experiences they had together, so I am looking forward to reading it.

And the rest…

As you already know it was a pretty busy week for me! On Thursday it was Danny’s birthday, and he requested I make a traditional kids birthday tea for his family that evening. I had so much fun baking for pretty much the whole day beforehand; I made a birthday cake which was lemon sponge topped with marshmallow frosting and Lucky Charms, Rice Krispie treats, and homemade sausage rolls which I served up with loads of mini sandwiches, pizza, party rings and crisps. I think it went down pretty well. It was definitely a silly but fun night!

IMG_3386

Danny’s cake was a little wonky but I was still pretty happy with my efforts!

The next day (Friday) was my birthday and I got spoilt rotten. Danny got me a new Kindle, and a loose-leaf teapot as well as my first Moleskine notebook! I was so excited over the teapot and the notebook he was really concerned that I didn’t like the Kindle haha! After spending a lovely lazy morning opening presents we packed for our weekend in Scotland then got on the train. It was a long journey but the scenery was so beautiful it went surprisingly quickly.

IMG_3408

Beautiful scenery on the way up, the colours were so vivid!

For the wedding weekend we stayed in the Loch Lomond Arms Hotel, which was also where the wedding reception was held. It was an incredibly perfect place for the celebrations – not only did it look quirky with loads of taxidermy, tartan and antlers, but the staff were helpful and the overall atmosphere was cheerful and friendly. On the Friday night a large group of us had dinner in the hotel restaurant – I had scallops with pancetta and apple to start, followed by ‘Piggy Black’ sausages with crispy kale, creamy mash and red onion jus, and even managed a pecan pie dessert. I always say that in Manchester I miss amazing ‘pub’ food and that is exactly what this hotel delivered, which boded well for the wedding meal!

IMG_3450

Stuffed owls in the hotel restaurant, there was taxidermy everywhere.

This friendly atmosphere carried on into the wedding itself on the Saturday – even the priest at the church was extremely affable, making jokes and relaxing the guests. Erin (the bride) looked absolutely beautiful and the whole ceremony was lovely. Afterwards we went back to the hotel for the reception; and after another amazing meal it was time for some music from a live band. There was ceilidh dancing which despite being totally chaotic at times was the most fun I’ve ever had at a wedding reception. Even Danny loved it!! I know I have thrown a lot of adjectives at this paragraph but the wedding was spectacular, everything from the scenery (near the beautiful Loch Lomond) to the food to the friendly relaxed atmosphere that continued all though the night, was perfect. I’m sending all the best to Chris and Erin in their married life together, two lovely people who deserved such a beautiful day.

On the Sunday Danny and I spent a relaxing morning walking by the loch, before getting the train back. Phew! So after that incredible week I am ready to get my head down to some serious reading and studying. How was your week? Have any of you visited Loch Lomond before? I would love to go back, I would like to visit a lot more of Scotland if truth be told.

IMG_3472

One of my favourite photos from the loch, it was so peaceful and beautiful.

Becqui

Leave a Reply

