A Song of Ice and Fire  :Revisited

A Song of Ice and Fire :Revisited

So this isn’t going to be a review of A Song of Ice and Fire – the books or Game of Thrones the television series. Suffice to say I think there are a million reviews out there, from the people scandalised by the series – to the avid fans who have all kinds of wacky future plot theories. However I am going to write about my thoughts on ASOIAF , and how watching the series has impacted upon my re-reading of the books.

IMG_2903

I love this little rainbow of books sat on my shelf!

Recently those who have read the books and are way ahead of the television series have come under a bit of fire. The actors in GOT have apparently not even read the books (lest the knowledge of what happens spoils their acting) and actress Maisie Williams, who plays the character Arya Stark has responded to those who read the books in a negative way.  But I don’t think there needs to be any kind of conflict between those who read the books and those who watch the series – both are extremely good. I bloody love the books; and I have an equally high regard for the series – George R.R Martin’s method of writing, with each chapter depicted from a different character’s viewpoint translates well into film.

I first read all of the books, and since then have sporadically watched the television series – I think I watched pretty much all of the first and second season and with the third and fourth I kind of just lost interest. I think it was more to do with me not watching the series faithfully meant I just drifted out of touch with what was happening. However as the fourth series was wrapping up I decided I wanted to revisit the books and have since worked my way through six out of the seven. And holy mother of god, I wish I had done it sooner.

I’m not sure if it was the result of watching the series, the lapse in time (two years) since I first read them, or just the anticipation of diving back into a series I love. Whatever it was opening that first book, Game of Thrones was like leaping into crystal clear water. George R.R. Martin is a sheer genius at rich description that sets you up for all the drama – from epic battles to the wars fought with words.  I forgot the images of the characters on screen and instead allowed my imagination to run wild – I’ll admit I was worried that Ned Stark would forever be Sean Bean, Cersei Lannister would be Lena Headey and so forth – but that wasn’t the case.

And that’s why, for me personally; the books will always win out over the television series. Re-reading them was like a wholly new experience, books that bogged me down the first time around revealed hidden interests and story lines.  That’s something the series won’t do

Lastly I’ll leave you with this little gem from Jojen Reed. ‘A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies… The man who never reads lives only one.’ Therefore, even if it isn’t Game of Thrones, to live these thousand lives I urge you all to pick something up and read!

Ps. If you are interested in some reviews I wrote of ASOIAF the first time I read them, then just click here to read them. // ASOIAF Reviews //

Leave a Reply

